Official website of the ECOWAS Parliament

The Structure of the Parliament

This post is also available in: Français (French) Português (Portuguese (Portugal))

The Supplementary Act in Chapter IV, Article 25 (A, B, C, D, E) specified the structure of the Parliament as consisting of the Political wing and in Article 26, the establishment of its Administrative wing:

The Political Wing

  • The Plenary: is the highest decision-making body of the Parliament. Its decisions are binding on other structures of the Parliament and the Representatives.
  • The Bureau: comprises the Speaker and four Deputy Speakers as the governing organ of the Parliament. Its decisions shall be in conformity with the provisions of the Treaty, the Supplementary Act, Rules of Procedure and all other legal texts of general application to Community institutions.

Bureau of the fifth legislature of the ECOWAS Parliament

Position Name Country
Speaker Sidie Mohamed Tunis Sierra Leone
First Deputy Speaker Ahmed Idris  Wase Nigeria
Second Deputy Speaker Sani Malam Chaibou Boucary Niger
Third Deputy Speaker Memounatou IBRAHIMA Togo
Fourth Deputy Speaker Adja Satu Camara Pinto Guinea Bissau

  • Conference of Committees Bureaux: is composed of members of the Bureau of Parliament as well as Chairmen and First Rapporteurs of Standing Committees and Chairmen of Parliamentary Groups. It organizes the work plans of the Standing Committees, considers the annual work plan of the Parliament and adopts the preliminary draft agenda of the session.
  • Standing Committees : are the engine rooms of the Parliament where core legislative agenda is crafted. They are made up of selected members in accordance with the Rules of Procedure (Rule 30, 31 and 32 provide for the establishment, composition and functions of the Standing Committees) to work in synergy with the technical departments of the ECOWAS Commission. Parliament may however, create additional Standing Committees in an attempt to fulfil its mandate.
  • Parliamentary Groups: may be formed by Representatives according to their political leanings and affinities. Its membership shall cut across at least, 5 Members States of the Community and its organizing modalities shall be provided for in the Rules of Procedure.

Administrative Wing

General Secretariat: is headed by the Secretary-General who directs the provision of administrative and technical support for the activities of the Parliament. The Secretary General is assisted by directors and other staff.
The current Secretary General is Mr. John AZUMAH from Ghana.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap