Official website of the ECOWAS Parliament

Committee on Political Affairs, Peace, Security and African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM)

The Committee shall be responsible for matters relating to:

Regional peace, stability and security by seeking to promote and strengthen good neighbourliness;

Follow up on the status of implementation of Community Texts on peace, security, democracy and good governance;

Promotion and consolidation of a democratic system of governance in each Member State as envisaged by ECOWAS declaration of Political Principles adopted in Abuja on 6 July 1991;

Assisting in parliamentary mediation missions aimed at achieving peaceful resolution of disputes among Member States, cooperation between neighbouring States and promotion of peace, a catalyst of economic development;

Strengthening cooperation in the area of conflict prevention, early warning, peacekeeping operations, control of cross-border crime; international terrorism, proliferation of small arms and anti-personnel mines;

Measures to combat crime, drug trafficking, money laundering, corruption and fraud;

South-South and North-South dialogue;

The African Peer Review Mechanism

The territorial integrity and independence of Member State.

Committee News

Committee Members

Position in Committee Lastname Firstname Country
President Edwin Melvin Snowe Jr Liberia
Vice President Issa Salifou Benin
First Rapporteur Mahama Ayariga Ghana
Second Rapporteur ADAMOU Abdou Niger
Second Rapporteur Halima Halima Mamane Niger
Member IBRAHIMA Memounatou Togo
Member TUNIS Sidie Mohamed Sierra Leone
Member YARA Ibrahima Mali
Member Bamidele Salam Nigeria
Member MUSTAPHA Olalekan Ramoni Nigeria
Member Marciano Indi Guinea-Bissau
Member Agbadao Koumon Nahou Togo
Member Gbocho Marcel Monney Ivory Coast
Member Youssouf Aya Mali
committee Clerk
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap