Official website of the ECOWAS Parliament

“Election of ECOWAS MPs by direct universal suffrage will be a continuous struggle,” Sidie Mohamed Tunis

The work of the First Ordinary Session of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Parliament was concluded on Thursday 10th June 2021, at the seat of the Parliament in Abuja, capital of Nigeria.  During the session, Parliamentarians adopted several reports (report of 2021 first extraordinary session, reports of Joint committees, reports of the Standing committees…). The community elected representatives also gave favourable opinions on several referrals from the ECOWAS Commission.

The highlight of the closing ceremony was the speech of the Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament, Sidie Mohamed Tunis.

Rt. Hon. Tunis reiterated the need for the election of ECOWAS MPs by direct universal suffrage under Article 18 of the Supplementary Act which enhances the powers of the Community parliament.

“It will be a continuous struggle, but we must be up to the task,” he insisted.

He called on the MPs to work toward the transformation of the ECOWAS zone into a self-sufficient, prosperous, and peaceful region.   “I urge you in your respective countries to use your mandate and influence to ensure that each Member State respects its commitments to the people.”

In his speech, he thanked all the distinguished guests whose presence at the opening ceremony gave special vibrancy to the work of the session. Rt. Hon. Tunis paid special tribute to the President of Ghana, Chairman of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government, Nana Akufo-Addo, for presiding over the opening ceremony of the session.

“The President of Ghana’s commitment to the ECOWAS Parliament and regional integration, demonstrates the common will of a prosperous West Africa and we are grateful for his leadership,” he said.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap